5 Comments

I've been thinking a lot about #9 and shaping stories around the question of whether some of us can ever truly feel like we belong to any place or group. Whether this is necessary to live a fulfilling life. How to belong only to ourselves. Whether this can include caring or only lead to isolationism and whether belonging to any group implies insider status and the negation of a critical perspective of that group.

Expand full comment
May 1, 2022Liked by Vanessa Mason

Something that's sticking with me today is from On Being's latest (old) interview with Pádraig Ó Tuama is his use of a quote that sectarianism is belonging gone wrong which I think plays into questions 4 and 5 and 7. At the same time, I'm exploring a few online "communities" and I'm not sure how much belonging can be designed but it does seem that there are a lot of very intentional efforts to establish community (and therefore belonging).

Expand full comment