5 Comments
Mar 2, 2022Liked by Vanessa Mason

What a wonderful exercise! For the first question, I think a clear indication that belonging is community-driven would be the presence of robust participatory budgeting processes for each community. My reasoning is my answer for number five: a few years ago I was able to participate in a participatory budgeting process in a neighbourhood in my city. It was really humbling to witness people from the community work together to address accessibility and inclusion issues in the process, collectively shape proposals, and eventually vote on what amenities and services they wanted to see take root in the neighbourhood. I would really love to see PB processes become common practice in cities - particularly as a methodology for designing and creative public social spaces.

Expand full comment

For #1, I think the key theme needs to be "Access." That can be literal access, like public transportation, or online through things like high-speed internet. Figure out access (writ large), and almost every hurdle gets cleared. Just my .02.

For #4, my biggest concern is a concentration of power by a handful of people who then deem themselves gatekeepers/tastemakers. Most of us lived through that in Jr. high/HS. I'm not interested in seeing that continue/increase on a societal level.

Expand full comment
deletedMar 4, 2022Liked by Vanessa Mason
Comment deleted
Expand full comment