2 Comments

Years ago, when I was a Clinical Team Supervisor in a medium sized child and family service, my uber narcissistic supervisor delighted in telling me that "as a result of restructuring" our group now had a $240K deficit n the new fiscal year, and if not made up, personnel cuts would be necessary. I presented this dilemma to my team later that week and outlined how small changes they each could make (in conjunction with the front desk staff), we could make that up so long as we worked together to do so. This sparked some staff to do fundraisers (bake sales) and we actually improved morale. We came out $10K ahead of the prediction, needed to cut no one and were a more supportive and harmonious team as a result. Win/win/win except for the narcissistic one, who got caught on video imitating the agency head and was dismissed. Oh yeah, that was a win, too.

Expand full comment
Apr 30, 2021Liked by Vanessa Mason

This year, moving back to the US & making a number of changes in my life & work while grappling with covid realities has been an ongoing exercise in calling on my Type R skills some day’s more successfully thank others ;)— adapting, drawing lessons & learning from changing circumstances, along in others for support, thinking about what I can and can’t control. It’s also been an opportunity to spark great new collaborations & conversations like this one with Vanessa on belonging. Thank you!

Expand full comment